Skip to content

Let the Edits Begin!

June 5, 2012

I am currently working on edits for my lust demon story with Ellora’s Cave, A Matter of Lust. I gotta admit, edits always make me feel like an imbecile. I am always flabbergasted and ashamed of the obvious mistakes I make, the overuse of words that I had no idea I was overusing, the misuse of homonyms. It’s enough to make me want to go cower in the corner of an elementary school classroom and beg them to teach me proper grammar.

In this manuscript, I apparently have a real problem with flair versus flare, which is a goddamn shame considering how often I use them.

How do you deal with edits and not end up with an inferiority complex?

*

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2012 4:21 pm

    Good luck with the edits…I always say I would write than edit…But we must all do them..

    • June 5, 2012 10:34 pm

      Thanks! Thank God for editors is all I gotta say. I’d look like a complete moron without mine.

  2. June 5, 2012 8:19 pm

    I’ve made a short list of what to look for when editing and try to force myself to read through slowly. But that’s hard. I also remind myself that writers have a tough time editing their own work. Everyone does.

    • June 5, 2012 10:35 pm

      That is true and I try to do those things as well, but I always miss something it seems. And it is always something new. *Sigh* At least my editor doesn’t get bored…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,299 other followers

