Skip to content

Inspiration: Hot Guys, Flying Birds and Broccoli by Carrie Ann Ryan

May 9, 2012

I am super excited to have CARRIE ANN RYAN here with me today, talking about where her inspiration comes form and giving away an awesome swag pack!

Inspiration: Hot Guys, Flying Birds and Broccoli by Carrie Ann Ryan

            I love when readers and other authors ask me where my inspiration comes from. Because frankly, my answer is always either: I wish I knew or everywhere. An author can come up with their ideas from the strangest things. From the way your broccoli is placed on your plate – yes Jessica, I’m talking to you – or the way Chris Helmsworth walks across the screen shirtless. *Let us all pause and reflect on that image.*

 

Okay, I’m back.

But really, my inspiration come from everywhere and anything. For A Night Away my inspiration came from the fact that I wanted to see what happens after the HEA. I mean, we all know what happens after we write The End. Right? Or is it….

What happens when Mel and Kade have the Pack, the family, Finn….and everything? How do they find time for themselves?

My inspiration comes from what I want to be and what I think might happen. I saw two doves flying in the air one day, very pretty, and tried to take a picture. My epic fail at that caused my dreams of writing an novel about angels, which comes next for me in the Dante’s Circle series.

A Night Away is a novella in my Redwood Pack series. I didn’t have a set inspiration for my wolves, but I did have an idea. I don’t know where it came from – but I wanted to talk about a family who loved each other and fought for each other. That is what you will find with the Jamensons. I hope you find it too.

Now go back to the picture of Chris and smile. Then go out and find your own inspirations. Where do you find yours?

Contest Info: Carrie Ann is giving away a signed swag pack. Be sure to leave your email address so we can get a hold of you.

Author Bio:

Carrie Ann Ryan is a bestselling paranormal and contemporary romance author. After spending too much time behind a lab bench, she decided to dive into the romance world and find her werewolf mate – even if its just in her books. Happy endings are always near – even if you have to get over the challenges of falling in love first.

Her first book, An Alpha’s Path, is the first in her Redwood Pack series. She’s also an avid reader and lover of romance and fiction novels. She loves meeting new authors and new worlds. Any recommendations you have are appreciated. Carrie Ann lives in New England with her husband and two kittens.

Carrie Ann loves hearing from readers. You can find her at:

Website | Blog | Heartthrob Haven | Facebook Author Page | Facebook Friend | Goodreads |

Twitter: @CarrieAnnRyan | Tumblr

An Alpha’s Path Amazon  Barnes & Noble ARe

A Taste for a Mate Amazon Barnes & Noble ARe

Trinity Bound Amazon Barnes&Noble ARe 

A Night Away Amazon Barnes&Noble ARe

A Night Away

Book 3.5 in the Redwood Pack Series

Kade Jamenson has been mated to Melanie for almost two years. They’ve been through mating circles, battles, loss, misunderstandings, and finally, the birth of their son, Finn. The world is in turmoil around them as the Redwoods engage in war with the Centrals. But for Kade and Melanie, the turmoil is also happening at home. The responsibility of a restless baby and their Pack has taken a toll and they need a break.

Not from each other. But from their Pack. Just for a night.

Kade takes Mel away for a romantic getaway and leaves Uncle Maddox alone with baby Finn. The Omega of the Redwood Pack may be adept at emotions but the idea of a baby may be beyond his immense capabilities.

Author’s Note: This is a novella set between books 3 and 4 to give you a taste of Mel and Kade. It is best that you have already immersed yourselves in the Redwood Pack world, however even new readers will enjoy a glimpse of one of the Redwood’s favorite couples.

A Night Away Excerpt

Mel looked into Kade’s green eyes and focused. She needed time with this man. Just the fact that she’d thought for a moment he’d leave her meant she did. And Kade cemented the fact that she was scared. Yes, she could admit that at least to herself. She was scared to death. She was floundering as a mother, as a mate, and a Pack leader. She needed a moment to escape. To sit back and remember why she loved doing all these things. To remember that she loved her mate and needed him more than the air she breathed.

She placed her palm on his face, his unshaved cheek scraping against her skin and she shivered at the thought of where else his five-o’-clock shadow could scrape her. His tanned skin looked like caramel against her pallor. She wanted to see where else they’d contrast when they lay naked in a sweaty pile.

She needed a break. If only for a night.

“Okay,” she finally whispered. “That sounds wonderful.”

Maddox released a sigh, and Kade smiled. “Good.”

“Where are we going?”

“It’s a surprise.” Kade gave a smoldering look and Mel melted into a puddle.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2012 10:21 am

    I love how you get inspired…I have those moments too..I once was inspired by a street sign…Wrote Special Delivery after that…

  2. Carrie Ann Ryan permalink
    May 9, 2012 10:41 am

    Thanks so much for having me! And street signs? Awesome.

  3. Allison permalink
    May 9, 2012 11:21 am

    Hi Carrie Ann and Lisa,
    I love that you’re writing about after the HEA, I think thats a great idea. Its always nice to have a peak into a relationship after a couple is happy and together. I’m just going to stare for a little while longer at Chris Hemsworth.

  4. May 9, 2012 11:23 am

    Great to see Carrie Ann in the limelight! Thanks Lisa,
    eden

  5. May 9, 2012 7:58 pm

    Oh I so had to read this post. I love broccoli but unlike Dana Carvey (or apparently Jessica) I do not derive inspiration from it. LOL Nice post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,321 other followers

