Skip to content

From the Vault of Goddess Karen

June 3, 2011

Some people just can’t handle their shit. We’re talking about pain here, and it’s something I take very seriously. There’s not so much of a difference between an “ow!” and an “ah!” Intermingled, they’re the best soundtrack to an S&M session. Throw in some air being sucked through teeth and it’s a freaking symphony. That being said, experience (plus common sense) prevents a dom from taking the pain to another, more harmful level. This is the consensual, fun kind of pain.

Pain and pleasure are twin sisters, you see. Some people will go to great lengths to avoid the pain aspect in favor of the pleasure, not realizing they are cut of the same cloth.

It’s all about those lovely endorphins. “They are produced by the pituitary gland and the hypothalamus in vertebrates during exercise, excitement, pain, consumption of spicy food, love and orgasm, and they resemble the opiates in their abilities to produce analgesia and a feeling of well-being.” Thank you, Wikipedia, for your artful definition, I love you.

Sit-ups or a spanking? My choice is clear. And as much as I love spicy food, I’d rather have a varied platter of BDSM activities laid out before me. The endorphins don’t only affect the submissive in the scheme of things; the dominant person gets off on them too. The rush as your paddle meets willing skin, the tensing of your bicep as you go in with the dildo…the physical act of dominating someone is its own sweet, sweet workout. If I don’t have a fine line of perspiration along my hairline for my beloved to lick off, then I’m shortchanging myself.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura P. permalink
    June 3, 2011 5:12 pm

    I don’t know if there is a science to back up my theory but it seems like a person’s fantasy for BDSM is tending to want the opposite of whatever they do professionally (CEO’s want to be made submissive and the “low man on the totem pole” loves being a dom!) Maybe this way a person can achieve balance in their life by experiencing both ends of the spectrum? Or maybe this just seems to be coincidence for the people I talk with!

  2. June 3, 2011 5:30 pm

    I’m with Laura P. That’s my experience…with men anyway.

  3. GoddessKaren permalink
    June 5, 2011 10:46 am

    One of my favorite quotes ever: “True love, to whom my heart is prey, How dost thou hold me in thy sway, That in each day I find no fault, But daily wait for love’s assault.”

    -Pernette du Guillet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,359 other followers

