Skip to content

Condoms and Romance

August 27, 2010

I’m kind of new to the whole erotic romance scene. I’ve only had one book published so far and only written three entire romances in my very budding career, one of which was flat out rejected. So I have a question that may strike many of you all as elementary, but it is something I feel I need to know more about.

How important is it to depict the use of protection in a sex scene? Condoms, mentions of the pill, diaphragms, how necessary are these things in a story?

In this very real contemporary life, not using such things with a new partner would be beyond foolish. But how important is it in an erotic romance? It is fiction after all. A fantasy. How closely does it have to mirror real life?

I ask because I do include mentions and use of protection in my contemporary tales and I wonder if it is a turn off. Or maybe a turn on? Does it take you out of the action? How does it make you feel about the heroine? Does not using protection or even mentioning it make her TSTL?

I am very, very interested in your opinions and feedback.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2010 4:34 pm

    It’s entirely up to you, the author, whether or not to include condoms, etc.

    If you can smoothly include it in a contemporary work, in a way that doesn’t pull the reader out of the story, and you WANT to include it, then by all means, do so.

    I haven’t read anything that makes me think of the heroine as a diseased filled skank because protection wasn’t included in the story.

    I’ve included condoms in some of my contemporary short stories, but in others it isn’t even thought of.

    It really depends on you, your characters and your story.

    Hope that helps.

  2. August 27, 2010 5:14 pm

    As someone who *abhors* writing condoms, etc. in my stories, I can tell you that readers generally abhor when they’re not mentioned in contemporary stories. I’ve developed my own rules: Paranormal-anything goes. Erotica-anything goes. Contemporary erotic romance-they’ve got condoms or her on the Pill. Urban fantasy-it just depends. I’ve been called out on it by publishers and editors in the past, so now I just figure it’s easier to write them in.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,008 other followers

